Week 6 – Forklift Operator to Web Developer

Before Iron Yard –

I love looking back to see where I came from, and how I got here. It keeps me grounded. It reminds me why I am here. Before Iron Yard, I was a forklift operator. It paid my bills, but that is about all it did. I needed to be able to save. I couldn’t do that here. Even though the company I worked for was 5 minutes from my house, I came home for lunch, but I needed to be able to provide better for my family. I am grateful for it because I was able to buy my first house off that income. I also realize that it was only a stepping stone to get me to the next chapter in my life.

Part of this process for me has been redefining my boundaries, expectations for myself and who I am/want to be. I’ve always been willing to take risks, but the older I get the more calculated those risks have to be… before I was a forklift operator, I was a booking agent for a small Christian company in Nashville, TN called Converge Music. I booked Grits, Sixteen Cities, Carlos Whittaker, Satellites & Sirens, The Wedding,  Rhema Soul and NF. I learned a lot about the music business. I learned a lot about networking. And I learned a lot about myself.

Week 6

We are finishing up week 6 at the Iron Yard, and I’m starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel! It has been a roller coaster ride of emotions and mental hurdles that I felt like I had to overcome to get to this point.

Day 3 of week 1. Several times I asked myself, have I made a wrong decision… am I learning too slow? I felt this huge weight being pushed down on me, and it felt like it would never leave. I felt like an imposter. At one point, I was literally worried the instructor, and campus director was going to figure me out and ask me to leave. I was terrified that I would never get it. I was terrified that I had made a huge mistake. It was around 6 or 7 pm at night of day 3 – week 1. I called Rick, a friend of mine, and told him where I was at. I told him I felt like I couldn’t do it. I felt like an imposter, and he prayed with me. He prayed for the Lord to expand my capacity to learn. He prayed for God to encourage me. After that, I had peace again. I came in the next day feeling empowered and ready to take on the next assignment.

“Overcoming my emotional hurdles were just as important to me as overcoming the mental hurdles.”

Everything I knew about driving a forklift didn’t matter. My confidence was being redefined. I felt like a kid again. Learning and absorbing as much about everything as I could. My mind had become a sponge just soaking up everything that was being taught.

It is week 6.  I’m starting to imagine doors opening up, and my chance to start providing for my family.. becoming a reality. I knew this journey WASN’T going to be easy.. but I knew that these were my next steps. These were the steps that I needed to take to move forward.

I have a quote that I refer back to often when I’m faced with challenges, or doubt the process. And it says this “Anything of value, requires work”. That’s it!! Nothing fancy and long. Anything of value requires work. I love it!! I’m not sure where I read this quote, but I love it. I apply it to everything…. my marriage, my relationship with Jesus, my studies, my passions, my family, my music, and my work. If you want more value in your life, then you have to be prepared to work for it. You have to be willing to go through the process to get the result that you desire. Period.

Leave a Reply

