Week 5 – Career Support

This week has been a challenge. I received a rejection letter from a company I had my third interview with. Instead of them sending me a code challenge, they sent me a rejection letter.

To help me stay balanced and not let myself get too wrapped up in the whole job hunt, I started building a web app using EmberJS and Node.js. The excitement of starting this project has helped me get over the hump of disappointment from the rejection letter. Here is a snippet of what my new web app looks like.

dealfye-screenshot

I spent 3 hours on getting this homepage setup. Bethany created the logo that you see.

Sometimes, you just need to step away from it. I also scheduled a meeting with my campus director, Josh, to get advice on what I could do better. We met Friday and it was very productive and encouraging. I walked away feeling motivated with a plan. That excited and revived me to get back on the job hunt.

 

Leave a Reply

