Week 8 – Career Support

This is week 8 of career support through Iron Yard.

Everyone in my cohort that graduated in December is still looking a job. I know some of the class is feeling frustrated. There was a great video shared on slack to encourage each other that I thought was appropriate. The title was called “Trust your struggle”. I won’t go too far into detail about it, but her message was simply that our struggles in a way guide us to where we are meant to be. By trusting in your struggle and not giving up, you are rewarded with the dream job you always wanted.

I’ve always been skeptical when I hear people say that they thought God spoke to them through signs, but tonight I believe God used the moon to lift my spirit. Like a glowing beam of hope, I saw it sitting in the darkness shining brighter than I have ever seen it before. It was as if God was saying, I know darkness feels like it surrounds you, but do not fear for I am with you. I am guiding you, just liked I guided the shepherds and wise men to my son. Suddenly, I felt a burst of joy & hope consume my spirit. I felt reassured.

Monday I had a phone interview for an internship with Digital Reasoning. They said that it would be a paid internship that wouldn’t start until May. She asked me if that was going to be a problem. I told her that she could still keep me in the pool, but I’ll be continuing to look for a job in the meantime.

I spent the rest of my week coding, giving my first talk at NashJS, understanding authentications and making my sign up form talk to my backend. With the help from a friend/Sr Dev, Brian Wells, we got it working! He said that the problem was in that I had created a hook for hashing my password as well as hashed in my UserController. I was getting two different hashes in my backend for one user, so it flagged my user as unauthorized. Once we figured that out, we removed the hashing within UserController. Now my new web app called “Deal Fye” has the ability to create new users who can now have access to the user page! My next step is getting to log out route to transition to login page once clicked and begin creating the “Deal” model. Here is a picture of NashJS during my talk. Thanks to Chris McNeese for taking this picture.

lightening-talk

It was a packed house. On meetup.com it shows that 146 developers came out to the talk. I believe it is possible too because after the talk I went to the back to grab a slice of pizza and it was all gone… ha. it was such a blast, though. I felt so humbled and honored to be up there in front of all those brilliant people. I can’t say enough good things about Nashville’s tech community. They have been nothing but supportive in my transition from being a forklift operator to becoming a web developer. I have more than a few mentors now helping, teaching, and advising me through this process.

Today was the deadline for applications to be turned in at MTSU for their web developer position. David Stevenson, who works there currently, told me that once the deadline is over they will begin the interview process with all the applicants, so I expect to be hearing from MTSU next week.

I also applied for a remote position based in Austin, TX. I would be working with a familiar front-end framework called “Emberjs”. I spoke with Robbie who posted the job, and he said that they offer mentorships as well, so that made me feel even better about applying for it. I feel my weakest skill, at the moment, is my understanding of Javascript. It can be so brutal at times. I feel confident in building in HTML5 and CSS3. I am getting more and more comfortable with authentications for users and RESTful APIs. I feel confident in navigating through sqlite3 using the command line to under the migration tables created and database. I feel really confident in using flexbox to build grids from scratch. I have become really confident in using basic git commands to push projects up to Github and work in an agile environment to eliminate merge conflicts. I really enjoy working with a team. The atmosphere, the energy, and implementing the ideas you discussed is rewarding to me. I love hearing other people’s ideas and coming together to make something great. I also love building an entire web app from scratch to deploying on a web server as well as getting more and more comfortable with navigating through it all. I am fascinated by how everything works together. At times, I feel like a sponge soaking up as much knowledge as I can.

Oh, and I also built my first snippet! While I’m in .hbs files and I want to build a basic grid of 3 items, all I have to do is type “grid” and hit “enter”. The rest is populated into my file!

The first picture is what shows up for me when I type “grid”. The second picture is where I made edits for the snippet to be active. Snippets are a great way to save time and removes the step of retyping repeatable code. In the future, I intend to create snippets for anything that I know I will use again. While I’m typing this blog out, I thought of a couple more that I could start creating a snippet for sign-up/login forms as well as creating one for the top-nav. While creating this snippet, I have learned a few things. Indentions matter, reading snippets documentation will get you over any hump, for some odd reason, I had to go straight to “atom-handlebars” package to make my edits, ${1:lorem text} allows you to tab through to specific parts in your snippet after you hit enter, and if they have the same number it allows you to make changes to muliple in one instance.

screen-shot-2017-02-10-at-11-02-36-pmscreen-shot-2017-02-10-at-11-02-18-pm

 

Thanks for reading.

Til next time.

-Shaun

 

Leave a Reply

