Week 10 – Career Support

It’s week 10 in Career Support. This is where the rubber meets the road. This is where all that the determination and perseverance I had to complete the 12-week Immersive Coding BootCamp is coming back to me to continue on. This is no easy road. This isn’t for the faint of heart. You have to be financially prepared to take a hit. I’ll be honest. I have made a lot of sacrifices to get where I am today. My wife has had to make sacrifices too. I sold my covered trailer to pay for my deposit to secure my seat in the class at Iron Yard. I sold all my sound equipment, put it in a savings account, and we are having to dip into that savings every month.

On top of the difficulties, I can say this. Changing careers has revived my inner being. It has given me a new found love for life. I was beginning to lose that in my previous job as a forklift operator. I felt it. And it terrified me.  I needed to continue to challenge myself.

Now, I feel alive. I feel like a new man. I feel like I’ve been given a second chance at making a better life for my family. I don’t complain because no one cares. I don’t feel sorry for myself. I thank God for the opportunities given to me. All I really need is to find one person willing to give me a chance. That’s it. Once that happens, I will hit the ground running and never look back.

I sat down with Brian Wells, Sr Dev, again today. We talked through the issues of why my RESTful API wasn’t posting to my backend. He fixed my code with two lines of code. That didn’t discourage me. It told me that I was two lines of code away from figuring it out on my own. The error I was getting was “Relation not found”.

screen-shot-2017-02-24-at-4-32-07-pm

He also showed me a new command in Adonis.

screen-shot-2017-02-24-at-4-34-00-pm

./ace migration:refresh –seed

This command refreshes my migration table by emptying out any data in my sqlite3 and then the –seed inputs fake data as well as a user that I have created. For example, I created a username and password, so that once I run this command my user doesn’t get erased.

Screen Shot 2017-02-24 at 4.42.41 PM.png

Like I mentioned earlier, we fixed my RESTful API with two lines of code. It now posts data to the backend once you input the data and click “Add to Watchlist”. The data is then pulled back in from the API and displayed in the watchlist using an “eachas” loop and a model in route.

screen-shot-2017-02-24-at-4-45-34-pm

Leave a Reply

